Quick Links

Quick Links

The Beaconsfield School A specialist Arts College

ICT Key Stage 5

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate

 Information Technology (IT) involves the use of computers in industry, commerce, the arts and elsewhere. IT includes aspects of IT systems architecture, human factors, project management and the general ability to use computers. Increasingly businesses are implementing IT strategies to manage and process data both to support many business processes and to deliver new opportunities

The course is designed for students interested in studying a range of information technology topics that will enhance their progression to a range of higher education courses, not necessarily in IT.


What is covered?

Students will complete four units over the two year course with the qualification being equivalent to one A Level.

Over the course of the two years, students will complete 4 units (three mandatory and one optional).


  • Unit 1: Information Technology Systems 
  • Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information   
  • Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business   
  • Unit 4 (Optional unit): Possible topics include Data Modelling or Website Development.


Entry Requirements

You will require a grade 5 in GCSE English and a grade 4 in GCSE Maths and also, you will also need a P2 in iMedia if you studied this course at GCSE.

Personalised Learning Checklist



Pearson BTEC Level 3 Information Technology